2021 Australian Accounting Hall of Fame Dinner and Awards Ceremony

David Boymal  Bill EdgeStewart Leech 

3 March 2021

Three accounting titans have been inducted into the Australian Accounting Hall of Fame for their significant achievements and contributions to the field.

The Australian Accounting Hall of Fame resides in the Department of Accounting at the University of Melbourne. Administered by the Department's Centre for Accounting and Industry Partnerships (CAIP), the annual awards ceremony was sponsored by CPA Australia and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. Inductees are nominated by their peers and selected by a review panel comprising senior members from industry, government and academia in Australia.

In 2021 the event was presented virtually for the first time, allowing a larger audience than ever to engage with the Hall.

David Boymal AM, Bill Edge, and Stewart Leech were recognised at the 12th annual awards ceremony for the Australian Accounting Hall of Fame.

The Colin Ferguson Oration was presented by Professor Sharon Lewin. Professor Lewin is a leading infectious diseases expert and the inuaugral Director of The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, a joint University of Melbourne – Royal Melbourne Hospital initiative. She is also a Professor of Medicine at The University of Melbourne and a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Practitioner Fellow.

Accounting in Australia has a long and distinguished history. There have been many individuals whose achievements, both alone and in combination with others, have been significant and whose impact on the discipline has been profound. The Australian Accounting Hall of Fame seeks to identify and recognise these individuals and their contributions.

Newsroom article

2021 photo album

2021 Commemorative Booklet