Year level prizes

Year level prizes are awarded for outstanding academic performance in any given year of study.

AC Morley Prize

In 1921 Alban C. Morley donated money to establish a prize to be awarded to the candidate whose first year of the Bachelor of Commerce is adjudged to be the most meritorious.

The prize is valued at the net annual income of the fund and is awarded to the best first year student. R6.72(11)

Helen McKay Memorial Prize

Awarded to the student with the most meritorious academic performance who is intending to specialise in Economics or Economic History in the final year of their studies. (1996) Helen McKay Memorial Prize R6.92(107)

J.F. Major Memorial Scholarship

In 1962, James Perrins Major, a physician and member of the Standing Committee of Convocations, bequeathed funds to the University to be used for a scholarship in memory of his son, James Frank Major, a Commerce graduate who died on active service. The prize is valued at the net annual income of the fund and is awarded to the best third year student. R6.116

Paton Advertising Services Exhibition

In 1954, Paton Advertising Service Pty Ltd donated money to establish a prize to be awarded annually to the best student in the second year of the Bachelor of Commerce.

The prize is valued at the net annual income of the fund. R7.92

The Martin Jilovsky Prize in Actuarial Studies

The donors of this prize are the wife and children of the late Martin Michael Jilovsky, BSc, FIA, FIAA, FNZSA. Mr Jilovsky graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree from the University in 1972, majoring in Mathematics. He undertook Actuarial Studies through the Institute of Actuaries (United Kingdom) and qualified as a Fellow of that Institute in 1980.

Martins career led to employment in Australia, England and New Zealand, within several leading actuarial companies, and most of his work involved corporate superannuation clients. Martin devoted a considerable amount of time to the actuarial profession. He acted as a tutor and examiner after qualification. He was a member of the superannuation practice committee of the Institute of Actuaries from 1994, and in 1999 he was appointed chairman. He completed a three-year term on the Council at the end of 1997, and was also involved in a number of other superannuation industry bodies. Mr Jilovsky died in 1999. This prize was established in memory of Martin by his wife Cathie and their three daughters Esther, Leah and Rachel.

The prize will be awarded to the final year student in the Bachelor of Commerce who is an Australian citizen, with the highest aggregate mark across all final year actuarial subjects.

The prize is the Net Annual Income of the trust 6.72 (256).

William Noall & Son Prize

To commemorate the centenary of their firm in 1957, William Noall & Son, stock and share brokers, established a fund to provide an annual scholarship for the final year Honours students completing a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree.

The prize is valued at the net annual income of the fund ($671 in 2007) and is awarded to the best Honours student. R6.100

The Neville Norman Prize

Awarded to the student whose (in the option of the selection committee) Economics Research Essay shows the greatest practical promise to add value to the community at large.

The value of the prize is $1,000.