2016 Australian Accounting Hall of Fame Dinner and Awards Ceremony

John Gunn CBE
Michael Sharpe AO  Ross L Watts 

Three pioneers in the field of accounting were recently recognised for their outstanding contribution to this discipline through their induction into the Australian Accounting Hall of Fame.

The Australian Accounting Hall of Fame resides in the Department of Accounting at the University of Melbourne. Administered by the Department's Centre for Accounting and Industry Partnerships (CAIP), the annual dinner was sponsored by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (Chartered Accountants ANZ) and CPA Australia. Inductees are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee comprising of senior members from industry, government and academia from around Australia.

John Gunn OBE, Michael Sharpe AO and Ross L Watts were acknowledged at the 7th Annual Presentation Dinner for Australian Accounting Hall of Fame 2016.

Accounting in Australia has a long and distinguished history. There have been many individuals whose achievements, both alone and in combination with others, have been significant and whose impact on the discipline has been profound. The Australian Accounting Hall of Fame seeks to identify and recognise these individuals and their contributions.

2016 commemorative booklet

2016 photo album

2016 Newsroom story