2020 Australian Accounting Hall of Fame Dinner and Awards Ceremony


4 March 2020

Four champions in the field of accounting were recognised for their significant contribution to the discipline through their induction into the Australian Accounting Hall of Fame.

The Australian Accounting Hall of Fame resides in the Department of Accounting at the University of Melbourne. Administered by the Department's Centre for Accounting and Industry Partnerships (CAIP), the annual dinner was sponsored by CPA Australia and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. Inductees are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee comprising of senior members from industry, government and academia from around Australia.

Michael Andrew AO, Lee Parker, Stephen Penman, Ruth Picker, and Roger Simnett AO (2019) were acknowledged at the 11th annual presentation dinner for the Australian Accounting Hall of Fame 2020. Roger Simnett was unable to attend the 2019 event, but was formally inducted at the 2020 ceremony.

Accounting in Australia has a long and distinguished history. There have been many individuals whose achievements, both alone and in combination with others, have been significant and whose impact on the discipline has been profound. The Australian Accounting Hall of Fame seeks to identify and recognise these individuals and their contributions.

2020 photo album

2020 Newsroom story

2020 Commemorative Booklet