Australia Day Honours 2017

The Australia Day 2017 Honours have been announced, and we would like to congratulate the following outstanding Faculty of Business and Economics alumni for being presented with these prestigious awards.


Awarded For

Mr Raymond A Allsopp OAM

service to sport, particularly for school children

The Hon John M Brumby AO

distinguished service to the Parliament of Victoria, to economic management and medical biotechnology innovation, to improved rural and regional infrastructure, and to the community

Mr Ahmed Fahour AO

distinguished service to business, particularly in the area of postal communications, to the banking and investment sectors, and as a supporter of improved multicultural relations

Mr Ian F Rodwell AO

distinguished service to community health as a supporter and advocate for funding to promote research and awareness of Motor Neurone Disease in Australia

Mr Christopher W Thomas AM

significant service to business and commerce, and to the community through support for a range of arts and medical research organisations

Mr Christopher I Thorn AM

significant service to the not-for-profit sector through advisory roles on philanthropic strategic planning, and to the community

Mr Brian F Watson AO

distinguished service to business and finance through leadership roles in the investment and venture capital sectors, as a philanthropist, and as a supporter of social welfare and medical research organisations

Mr Paul L Wheelton AM

signficant service to a range of charitable organisations in Victoria through governance, fundraising and philanthropic contributritions

Dr Lynne S
Williams AM
for significant service to public sector administration, and to economic and public reform in Victoria

For the full list of notable University of Melbourne alumni, please visit