Academic Staff

Our academics are recognised as leaders in Finance disciplines.

  1. Dr Gil Aharoni

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Asset pricing
    • Behavioural finance
    • Options

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 9062 Email gaharoni@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  2. Dr Fatemeh Aramian

    Postdoctoral Fellow

    Finance

    • Market microstructure
    • Liquidity

    Department of Finance

    Email fatemeh.aramian@unimelb.edu.au
  3. Dr Attila Balogh

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Corporate governance
    • Purpose of the firm
    • Biodiversity finance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 7898 Email balogh@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  4. Dr Elizabeth Bowman

    Business Manager

    Finance

    Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets

    • Decision Neuroscience
    • Neuropharmacology
    • Clinical trials

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 9950 Email eabowman@unimelb.edu.au
  5. Dr James Brugler

    Senior Lecturer
    Practitioner-in-Residence Program Coordinator

    Finance

    • Economics of financial markets
    • Empirical market microstructure

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 1164 Email james.brugler@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  6. Professor Carole Comerton-Forde

    Research and Executive Education

    Finance

    • Market microstructure
    • Liquidity

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 6117 Email carole.comerton-forde@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  7. Dr Jonathan Dark

    Honours Coordinator (Finance)
    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Financial Econometrics

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 6866 Email jdark@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  8. Dr Juan Pablo Franco

    Postdoctoral Fellow

    Finance

    Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets

    • Human decision making
    • Decision neuroscience
    • Neuroeconomics

    Department of Finance

    Email juan.franco@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  9. Dr Marina Gertsberg

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Empirical corporate finance
    • Economics of gender
    • Corporate governance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 6195 Email marina.gertsberg@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  10. Dr André Gygax

    Program Director (Master of Finance)
    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • The life cycle and sustainability of industries, firms, technologies and networks.

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 9085 Email agygax@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  11. Professor John Handley

    Professor of Finance

    Finance

    • Corporate Finance
    • Cost of Capital
    • Derivatives
    • Valuation

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 7663 Email handleyj@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  12. Dr Joachim Inkmann

    Senior Lecturer
    Deputy Honours Coordinator (Finance), Working Paper Series Coordinator

    Finance

    • Household finance
    • Pensions

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 8177 Email jinkmann@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  13. Associate Professor Hae Won (Henny) Jung

    Associate Professor of Finance

    Finance

    • Corporate Finance
    • Industrial Organization
    • Risk Management and Insurance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 8641 Email hae.jung@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  14. Dr Patrick J. Kelly

    Senior Lecturer
    Deputy Program Director (Master of Finance)

    Finance

    • The impact of the media on asset prices and corporate governance
    • Market efficiency
    • Behavioural Finance
    • Empirical Asset Pricing

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 3961 Email patrick.kelly@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  15. Dr Minsoo Kim

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Financial Intermediation
    • Empirical Asset Pricing
    • International Finance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 6408 Email minsoo.kim@unimelb.edu.au
  16. Professor Paul Kofman

    Dean
    Sidney Myer Chair of Commerce

    Finance

    • Business Cycles and Default Risk (Asset pricing, Merton's default likelihood)
    • Constrained portfolio allocation
    • Diversification Breakdown and Downside Risk (Exceedance correlations, Portfolio allocation)
    • Extreme value analysis and financial applications
    • Financial econometrics
    • Insurance Pricing (Automobile insurance, Asymmetric Information)
    • Insurance rate making
    • Market Discipline of Financial Institutions (Credit spreads, Bank risk)
    • Price discovery in regulated financial markets
    • Regulation of Derivatives Exchanges (Limits, Spreads, Margins)

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 5311 Email pkofman@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  17. Associate Professor Asjeet Lamba

    Head of Department

    Finance

    • Corporate governance
    • Corporate litigation
    • Insider trading
    • Share buybacks

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 7011 Email asjeet@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  18. Dr Yoon Kang Lee

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Asset pricing

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 3785 Email yoonkang.lee@unimelb.edu.au
  19. Associate Professor Bryan Lim

    Associate Professor of Finance

    Finance

    • Empirical Asset Pricing
    • News and Information Transmission

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 9088 Email blim@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  20. Associate Professor Andrea Lu

    Program Director (Master of Management (Finance))

    Finance

    • Empirical asset pricing
    • Financial market frictions
    • International finance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 3326 Email andrea.lu@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  21. Dr Maurice McCourt

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Empirical finance
    • Asset management
    • Private equity
    • Mutual funds

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 9717 Email maurice.mccourt@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  22. Professor Carsten Murawski

    PhD Coordinator (Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets)

    Finance

    Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets

    • Decision Neuroscience
    • Experimental Finance
    • Finance (Consumer finance, household finance, financial decision-making)

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 9077 Email carstenm@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  23. Professor Federico Nardari

    Joint Deputy Head of Department (Research and Engagement)

    Finance

    • Econometrics (Volatility and Correlation Modelling, Forecasting, Bayesian Methods)
    • Financial Economics (Asset Allocation, Portfolio Choice, Relation between Financial Markets and Macro Economy, Mutual Funds Performance, Trading Activity)

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 4133 Email federico.nardari@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  24. Dr Ian O'Connor

    Lecturer

    Finance

    • Bank lending
    • Business finance
    • Derivatives markets
    • International finance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 6812 Email ianpo@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  25. Dr Hoonsuk Park

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Household finance
    • Behavioral finance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 7862 Email hoonsuk.park@unimelb.edu.au
  26. Associate Professor Sean Pinder

    Joint Deputy Head of Department (Teaching and Learning), Finance Major Coordinator

    Finance

    • Capital raisings
    • Corporate finance decisions
    • Derivatives

    Department of Finance

    Email spinder@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  27. Dr Oliver Randall

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Asset pricing
    • Market Microstructure

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 7916 Email oliver.randall@unimelb.edu.au
  28. Dr Chander Shekhar

    Senior Lecturer
    Deputy Program Director (Master of Management (Finance))

    Finance

    • Corporate Finance (Law and Finance)

    Department of Finance

    Email c.shekhar@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  29. Dr Zhen Shi

    Senior Lecturer
    Program Director (Graduate Certificate in Business)

    Finance

    • Portfolio choice under a Value-at-Risk constraint
    • Individual retirement and annuitization decisions
    • Corporate investment strategies

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 8173 Email zshi@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  30. Associate Professor Shinsuke Suzuki

    Associate Professor of Finance

    Finance

    Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets

    • Behavioural Finance
    • Neuroeconomics

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 5971 Email shinsuke.suzuki@unimelb.edu.au
  31. Professor Garry Twite

    Program Director (Finance PhD)
    Visiting Professor of Finance

    Finance

    • Corporate finance
    • Corporate governance
    • Compensation, and real estate finance.

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 7786 Email garry.twite@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  32. Professor Patrick Verwijmeren

    Honorary
    Visiting Professorial Fellow

    Finance

    • Capital structure (Debt-equity decisions)
    • Convertible securities (Convertible design contract innovation)
    • Corporate Social Responsibility (Social investing, Stakeholder value)

    Department of

    Email patrick.verwijmeren@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  33. Dr Ekaterina Volkova

    Senior Lecturer

    Finance

    • Empirical Corporate Finance

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 5110 Email ekaterina.volkova@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  34. Dr Nitin Yadav

    Senior Lecturer
    Deputy PhD Coordinator (Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets)

    Centre for Brain, Mind and Markets

    • Complexity of Decision Making
    • Experimental Finance
    • Intelligent Agent Systems

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 9035 3118 Email nitin.yadav@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  35. Associate Professor Qi Zeng

    Deputy PhD Coordinator (Finance)

    Finance

    • Asset pricing

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 5359 Email qzeng@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert
  36. Associate Professor Zhuo Zhong

    Associate Professor of Finance

    Finance

    • Asset Pricing Theory
    • Market Microstructure
    • Network Economics

    Department of Finance

    Phone number +61 3 8344 2990 Email zhuo.zhong@unimelb.edu.au Find an Expert Find an Expert

Find a Staff Member

- OR -

- OR -

- OR -