Advisory Board

Role of the Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board is Chaired by the Head of the Department of Economics at the University of Melbourne's Faculty of Business and Economics, Professor David Harris.

The Advisory Board meets at least once each year and advises the CMD directors on the development and refinement of the Centre for Market Design's strategic plan, including issues associated with research focus and its business and engagement strategy. Members consider reports from the directors on activities in progress and future plans, and offer feedback and suggestions for further activities.

Advisory Board Members

Ron Ben David

Dr Ron Ben-David

Professorial Fellow, Monash University

Dr Ron Ben-David is a thought leader and innovator and University of Melbourne Alumnus whose positions have included Chair of the Essential Services Commission, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet in Victoria and Head of Secretariat at the Garnaut Climate Change Review. Ron was recently a Panel Member of the Local Government Rating System Review and was appointed Professorial Fellow, Monash University, in 2020. Ron is also on the advisory boards of the Regulatory Policy Institute (Australia New Zealand) and Customer Stewardship Australia (University of Sydney).

juan carlos

Associate Professor Juan Carlos Carbajal

UNSW Sydney

Associate Professor Juan Carlos Carbajal has expertise in market design, mechanism design, behavioural economics and contract theory and is based at the UNSW Sydney. He is also a fellow at AGORA Group.

ian harper

Professor Ian Harper

Melbourne Business School

Professor Ian Harper is Dean of Melbourne Business School and co-Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne.  Ian has worked with governments, banks, corporates and leading professional services firms and was appointed to the board of the Reserve Bank of Australia in May 2016. He is also a Senior Advisor to Deloitte Access Economics, having previously been a partner with the firm. Ian was the inaugural Chairman of the Australian Fair Pay Commission and also chaired the Australian Government’s Competition Policy Review. He is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia; a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Distinguished Public Policy Fellow of the Economics Society of Australia.

david harris

Professor David Harris (Chair)

University of Melbourne

Professor David Harris is the Head of the Department of Economics at the University of Melbourne.  He specialises in econometrics and time series analysis.  He is also on the Leadership Team of the Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne.

steven kennedy

Dr Steven Kennedy

The Australian Treasury

Dr Steven Kennedy is the Secretary to the Australian Treasury.  Steven is the former Secretary of the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities.  His previous positions include former Deputy Secretary at the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet; Deputy Secretary at the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science; the Department of the Environment and the former Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education. Steven has also worked as the Director of Cabinet and Government Business and as a senior economic adviser to the Prime Minister’s Office.

stephen king

Dr Stephen King

Productivity Commission

Dr Stephen King is Commissioner at the Productivity Commission and previously held the position of Professor of Economics at Monash University, where he was the Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics from 2009-2011. Stephen chaired the Mergers Review Committee at the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and he was also previously a Professor of Economics at the University of Melbourne and a Professor of Management (Economics) at the Melbourne Business School. His main areas of expertise are in microeconomic theory, competition economics, regulation and industrial organisation.

scott kominers

Associate Professor Scott Kominers

Harvard Business School

Associate Professor Scott Kominers is the MBA Class of 1960 Associate Professor of Business Administration in the Entrepreneurial Management Unit, and the Faculty Affiliate of the Harvard Department of Economics and the Harvard Center of Mathematical Sciences and Applications. He is an Associate of the Harvard Center for Research and Computation and Society and a Research Economist at the National Bureau of Economic Research in the United States. Scott is also an Associate Editor for Management Science and Journal of Mechanism and Institution Design.

john leyard

Professor John Ledyard

California Institute of Technology

Professor John Ledyard is the Alan and Lenabelle Davis Professor of Economics and Social Sciences at the California Institute of Technology. He has a long association with Caltech and his primary research is on the theoretical foundations and the applications of mechanism design. John is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the Public Choice Society and a Fellow of the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory.

leslie marx

Professor Leslie Marx

Duke University

Professor Leslie Marx is the Robert A. Bandeen Professor of Economics at Duke University and has research interests in game theory and industrial organisation. Leslie’s research focuses on evaluating anti-competitive conduct and looks at the use of collusion, bid rigging and anti-competitive contracts in auctions and other markets. Leslie is a co-editor at AEJ: Microeconomics and is on the editorial board for International Journal of Game Theory. She was also a member of the 1996 United States Olympic Fencing Team and won the Veteran Fencing World Championship for ages 50-59 in 2017.

rupert myer

Mr Rupert Myer AO

The Aranday Foundation

Mr Rupert Myer AO is the Deputy Chairman of Myer Holdings Ltd and is a Director of AMCIL Ltd; Director of the Creative Partnerships Australia Board and is Chairman of Nuco Pty Ltd. Rupert also serves as Chairman of the Australia Council and as a member of the Felton Bequests Committee. He is also a board member of Jawun-Indigenous Corporate Partnerships, The Myer Foundation and The Australian International Cultural Foundation.


Dr Graeme Woodbridge

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Dr Graeme Woodbridge is a specialist in competition economics.  He is currently the Chief Economist of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.  Graeme has worked in government, academia and the private sector.  He holds a Doctor of Philosophy (Economics) from the University of California, Los Angeles.