2019 Award Recipients

Rising Star for Young Alumni Award

An individual who is aged 35 and under and has demonstrated an outstanding level of professional achievement and community involvement since graduating from the University of Melbourne and/or recognition by colleagues and peers of outstanding leadership and impact as a global citizen.

Fernando Tamayo Grados

Fernando Tamayo Grados (BCom 2010)

Mr Tamayo’s award recognises his emerging leadership in Peru and Latin America, by his promotion of sustainable development through social enterprise. He is the founder and CEO of YAQUA, the first social enterprise in Peru that transfers 100 per cent of its profits towards implementing sustainable solutions to the water crisis his country is facing. Mr Tamayo has demonstrated an outstanding level of professional achievement and community involvement upon returning to his home country of Peru, and we are proud to be able to acknowledge his efforts with this award.

Faculty Award

An individual who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the Faculty or the University, either through philanthropy, research, student impact or outstanding leadership, and which has benefited the reputation of the Faculty or University.

Dr Lynne Williams AM

Dr Lynne Williams AM (BA (Hons) 1973, MA 1976)

Dr Williams has made extensive and continued contributions to the governance of the University through membership of the boards of the Faculty of Business and Economics and Melbourne University Sport; she has also been a Fellow of St Hilda’s College since 1997 and Principle Fellow since 2018. This award also recognises the achievements of Dr Williams as a senior economist and senior executive in the Victorian and Australian public service for over 30 years. Dr Williams is currently on several boards at both Commonwealth and state levels and is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia. In 2017, Dr Williams was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia for her significant service to public sector administration, and to economic and public policy reform in Victoria. The Faculty is pleased to honour Dr Williams’ achievements with this award. A competitive athlete, Dr Williams held several Australian athletics records. Her achievements in sport include four Blues at the University of Melbourne and representing Australia at the International Association of Athletics Federations World Cross-Country Championships in Morocco (1975) and Ireland (1979).

Leadership Award

An individual who has achieved significant and recognised impact in business, government or the non-profit sector through leadership in career to date.

Janet West AM

Janet West AM (BCom 1974)

The Faculty is privileged to present Mrs West with the Leadership Award, in recognition of the significant impact she has delivered through her leadership roles. Mrs West was a partner at Deloitte for 23 years, having been the first female partner the firm appointed in Australia. She was also the first female President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, now Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CAANZ), and has led a number of programs to support the advancement and retention of women in Chartered Accountancy and business more generally. She has been a non-executive director of a number of not-for-profit organisations including Australian Red Cross, the National Trust, and the Keep Australia Beautiful Council. Mrs West currently holds non-executive director roles on the boards of Australia Post, Neurosciences Victoria and Dairy Australia. Mrs West is a Fellow of CAANZ, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has also held leadership positions on Victorian State Council and as Chair of the National Education Committee of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, and is currently the Chair of the Appeals Tribunal of CAANZ. In addition to being appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2007, Mrs West was also awarded a Centenary Medal in 2001 for services to the accounting profession and the community.

Outstanding Achievement Award

An individual who has achieved long-term, sustained and outstanding achievement and leadership in business, government or the non-profit sector.

Elizabeth Alexander AO

Elizabeth Alexander AO (BCom 1964)

Ms Alexander has demonstrated outstanding passion and leadership throughout her distinguished career in the accounting profession. She has been dedicated to empowering businesswomen, and continues to provide an extensive and active contribution to the industry. Ms Alexander was the first female partner in a 'Big 8' accounting firm, the first female State and National President of CPA Australia and one of only two female Life Members of CPA Australia. A specialist in risk management and corporate governance issues, Ms Alexander secured legal backing for accounting standards in Australia during her presidency of CPA Australia. She was the National President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She went on to be Chairman of CSL Limited and is now the Chairman of Medibank Private Limited. Ms Alexander was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 1990 in recognition of her services to accountancy. In 2011, Ms Alexander became the 21st Chancellor of the University of Melbourne. The Faculty is honoured to count Ms Alexander amongst its ranks of outstanding alumni and to recognise her achievements with this award.