The Basics

2017 KEY DATES

Semester  1 2017

Summer Term

Tuesday 3 January - Sunday 26 February

Semester 1 begins

Monday 27 February

Semester 1 ends

Sunday 28 May

Examinations

Tuesday 6 June  –  Friday 23 June

Results final release date

Friday 7 July

Winter Break

Friday 23 June - Sunday 23 July

Semester  2 2017

Semester 2 begins

Monday 24 July

Semester 2 ends

Sunday 22 October

Examinations

Monday 30 October to Friday 17 November

Results final release date

Friday 1 December

More University Dates

STOP 1: CONNECTING STUDENTS AND SERVICES

Stop 1 can help you with admissions, enrolment, course planning, administration, support services and skills development. If you can't find what you're looking for on the web, ask us online, call us on the phone, or visit us in person.

SUPPORT SERVICES

The University of Melbourne offers one of the most comprehensive student support networks in Australia.

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Getting prepared

Find information about life in Melbourne, including housing and the cost of living.

International student online briefing

Read our comprehensive online International Student Briefing for arrival information and a full list of available services designed to support your transition to Melbourne.

OSHC CARD

Collect your Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) card.

Current international students

Information on visa matters, study load requirements, working while studying, and health and safety for current and continuing international students.

SAFETY ON CAMPUS

Melbourne is a relatively safe city, but we suggest using common-sense personal safety practices, as you would anywhere.  

The University of Melbourne’s Parkville campus has a 24-hour security service to provide a safe environment for all students and staff.  It is advisable, however, to consider some precautions when using the campus, particularly at night.

Campus security officers are available to escort you to your car, public transport or other locations on or around campus.  

Please put Security’s telephone number (03) 8344 6666 in your mobile phone and call them if you are concerned for your safety.

For emergencies (Ambulance, Fire Department and Police), please call OOO.

See the Safer Community website for more information.